What are national animals?

To decide which species will represent them internationally, the countries are based on those that inhabit the territory and are typical of the ecosystem. Of course, there are also national animals related to mythology or culture. Meet some of them in the following article!

Examples of national animals

That Australia has chosen the kangaroo, China to the panda and Spain to the bull is not a coincidence: each country is in charge of determining its national animal based on the species that are most present in its territory or that are related to history and culture. Some more examples:

  1. – Bald Eagle (United States)

Not only is it present in the national coat of arms and in the currency of a quarter of a dollar, but its image – the one that opens this article – is used as a synonym of strength, power, and dexterity and is also venerated by the natives. The bald eagle actually has feathers on its head, but these are clearer than on the rest of the body, darker. One of the outstanding features of this bird is its large yellow beak.

In the neighboring country, Mexico, the golden eagle is the national animal, although it is not an endemic species of this territory: it also lives in Europe and Japan. He was even chosen by Germany to represent them.

  1. – Birds of Central America

Most countries in Central America have chosen a different bird to represent them internationally. This is because the area is one of the most prolific in terms of these animals. The Quetzal in Guatemala, the red guard in Honduras, the red flamingo in the Bahamas and the red-billed hummingbird in Jamaica are some examples.

  1. – Vicuña (Peru)

In South America, many birds are also national animals ( hornero in Argentina, condor in Bolivia, Colombia and Ecuador or term in Uruguay), but undoubtedly the most representative of the Andean zone -and specifically of Peru- is the vicuña, a direct family member. of the camels of the desert and relative of the alpaca and the llama.

These small camelids, up to 50 kilos in weight and light brown fur, inhabit areas more than 3,200 meters above sea level. They have the ability to walk between the rocky and warm soil and feed on low grasslands.

  1. – Gallo (France)

We must make a differentiation with the ‘common’ rooster, chosen as a national animal in Portugal. The Gallic rooster is the one that represents France – it is even present in sports such as football, rugby, and fencing – and we can see it in various monuments and designs throughout this country.

  1. – Alcee (Sweden and Norway)

Both countries share not only the territory where they live (Scandinavia), the hostile climate and several of their customs, but also the national animals. They have chosen the elk because it is the species that most live in its cold and snowy forests.

Of the family of cervids, this mammal has a great sexual dimorphism: the male has large antlers, which are his main distinguishing feature. They form small flocks in winter, are oriented by smell and hearing and feed on leaves, branches, stems, and bark.

  1. – The five great Africans

As with the vast fauna of the continent, the national animals of Africa are also very diverse. Of course, several countries have chosen one of the ‘ big five ‘ to represent them: lion in Ethiopia, leopard in Somalia, the elephant in Kenya and buffalo in Zambia. Only the rhino was missing to complete the team!

  1. – Bengal Tiger (India)

This subspecies of the tiger inhabits several countries in the region, more precisely in the forests and savannas (it is also the national animal of Bangladesh). It can measure up to three meters and weigh about 230 kilos. For more information about the animals click on http://www.nationalpedia.com/category/national-animal/.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *